President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday administered the oath of office to Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose as Lokpal chairperson. “The oath was administered at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan,” according to an official statement.

Justice Ghose, a former Supreme Court judge, was on March 19 appointed as the country’s first Lokpal, the anti-corruption ombudsman.

President Kovind had cleared the appointment of Justice Ghose. A Rashtrapati Bhavan communique had said that the President had cleared the appointment of Justice Ghose as Chairperson and nine others as members of the Lokpal following a recommendation from the Selection panel headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Justices Dilip B Bhosale, Pradip Kumar Mohanty, Abhilasha Kumari and Ajay Kumar Tripathi are the five judicial members in the Lokpal. The non-judicial members are Dinesh Kumar Jain, Archana Ramasundaram, Mahender Singh and Dr Indrajeet Prasad Gautam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *