Bhubaneswar: Thunderstorm and lightning warning for 12 districts in Odisha till 9 am today was issued by the regional office of India Meteorological Department.

As per the latest bulletin of the met department, the alert has been issued for Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack, Khurda, Puri, Ganjam, Gajapati and Nayagarh districts.

People in these areas have been advised to stay indoors and take shelter in nearby buildings and other safe locations till 9 am. Some districts will also experience heavy rainfall in the next 24 hours, the met department stated in its release.

District Collectors of respective districts, the Special Relief Commissioner, Managing Director of Odisha State Disaster Management Authority and all Revenue Divisional Commissioners have also been alerted by the IMD, said sources.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *