Bhubaneswar: The second phase panchayat polls, which is currently underway at 175 Zilla Parishad zones in 29 districts, also witnessed poll boycott in various places today.

In Bhadrak district, villagers of Kumarkhani under Rambhila panchayat boycotted the polling alleging lack of basic amenities. Voters of two villages under Katikela panchayat in Jharsuguda district also did not turn up for voting for same reason.

Alleging various problems in village, residents of Charpali under Dhama panchayat in Sambalpur boycotted the elections. Krushnapur villagers under Bhuban block in Dhenkanal district, who have been demanding inclusion of their village in newly created panchayat, also decided not to take part in the polls.

Polling has not begun at 24 wards in eight villages of Gopalpur panchayat under Ranpur block of Nayagarh district. The villagers have demanded establishment of a hospital in Gopalpur or nearby locality failing which they would boycott the polls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *