For the first time, Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik will contest the Odisha assembly polls from two seats – Bijepur and his home turf Hinjili.

Patnaik on Monday announced that the first list of BJD candidates for nine of the 21 Lok Sabha and 54 of the 147 assembly seats in the state. The chief minister, who is seeking re-election for the fifth consecutive term, said he will contest the state polls from Hinjili in Ganjam district and Bijepur in west Odisha’s Bargarh district.

Patnaik represents the Hinjili assembly seat in south Odisha and has been winning successive assembly elections since 2000.